It’s a small world after all!

I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted much, but I do have an excuse: I’ve been busy planning and packing! In the fall, I’ll be attending graduate-level classes in Amherst, MA for an M.F.A. in Writing for Children. Perfect for the girl who writes a blog about Disney? I think so.

This week, I have been desperately searching for an apartment by visiting Amherst. Let me just say, it is not an easy thing to jump into an area with five surrounding colleges and try to find a one bedroom apartment. But I have found an apartment. How did I choose? Let me explain:

I had been in contact with an apartment complex for a while, but I really did not want to go there since they only have two bedroom apartments. This was a bit more than I truly needed, and therefore more expensive than necessary. However, after coming to the area to search and not finding many options, I decided to take a look at the place, just in case.

So I went and spoke with a very nice woman who showed me a place. It was really great! But what really sealed the deal was the conversation we had as we walked from the model apartment back to the leasing office.

She told me that she liked my bag (which I purchased last summer at Animal Kingdom, a nice shoulder backpack with a Figment EPCOT pin I also purchased) and that she is obsessed with Disney.

She will never know how much this meant to me.

I mentioned about my trip the year before and that I, too, am obsessed with Disney. She then told me about how she had done the Disney college program for two years, one year selling merchandise and the second as a performer (Mickey, Minnie, Lilo, and Stitch). She absolutely loved the experience, and, I have to admit, I was rather jealous. I only really thought about doing it in the last year or two, and my school didn’t have an actual connection with the program. But it was so interesting to actually meet someone who had been a part of it and know that it really was rewarding!

I couldn’t believe it! After this conversation, I knew that I could fit in with this apartment complex and the manager I spoke with. It just seemed right. It really is a small world after all for us in love with Disney.

Leave a Reply

